Giant Card Tutorial 

Hey, everyone! So this week I discovered a new product at Joann Fabric (I promise, I really wasn’t looking… It just happened.) DCWV is a paper company and they have some really great stuff, and they have a new product out: 11×17 inch cardstock paper pads! They have solid, patterned, and foiled papers- exciting stuff to a paper nerd! So immediately I began plotting an oversized card. After a few ideas I came up with this lovely: 

  
This is a tutorial for those of you who use die cutting machines, but this basic idea can be modified easily and in so many ways for those of you who are old fashioned crafting to make awesome giant cards! 

So to do this you need one sheet of 11×17″ DCWV solid paper. (This is double sided so the inside is bright blue!) I used my Silhouette Cameo for this cut-out card.

I placed the paper on my 12×12 cutting mat, which left the extra 5 inches or so hanging off the end, which is fine, since this will be the back of the card. We won’t do any cutting on the back of the card. 

I perforated where the center of the card would be (8 1/2 inches down from the top of the paper). To do this just make a straight line with the line tool and change the line cutting style to perforated. 

Next create the text or shapes you want to cut out of the front of the card. Make sure you center and orient it correctly in the       8 1/2″ x 11″ space between the top of the paper and the perforated line at the 8 1/2″ mark. 

Now go ahead and do the cutting. (Keep the weeded out insides of the letters to glue on the card later so the letters don’t look funny!!) You fold it at the perforated line and you’re almost done. 

Open the card and on the inner left side of the card (where your cut out image is), glue whatever color sheet of 8 1/2 x 11″ cardstock coordinates with your card. See my picture- I used bright green. Then you are finished!

 Finding an envelope to mail this is probably pretty difficult, but you could mail it in a letter size Manila envelope! I did create an envelope to go with this but it needs a few tweaks. I’ll work on it and maybe share the file with you later this week as the freebie. 

  
  
I would love to see your take on this if you make an oversized card!!!

Enjoy!

-Sarah

Cate Crafts

Leave a Reply

