Upcycle an Old Painting!

Hey there, everyone! So this is an older post from my previous blog (I used to have another platform and just didn’t love it!) but I thought it is still a good post and wanted to share it with you. This is a fun and inexpensive way to make something GREAT out of something blah. Hope you find it inspiring!

Ok, so I have gotten to totally redo most of my house the last few months. My mother-in-law made it all possible. She helped do so much of the painting and countless other tedious things I can’t stand! One of the fun things I up-cycled was a huge canvas painting of flowers I had. It was given to me by a friend of the family so it was free, yay! I had it hung in my scrapbooking room and when I decided to redecorate it just didn’t fit anymore. Since it was just a mass produced artwork sold at Marshalls, I said hey, why not make this something awesome? I brought it outside and let my daughter go to town painting it however she wanted for fun. If I’m going to paint over it anyways, she should get to have some fun too!

 
When the fun was over and it was all dry, I painted it myself. I used some of my leftover paint from painting my scrapbooking room. I have a mostly-cohesive design through the whole house so I figured I would use some leftover paint from the other rooms. I painted it a pale gray (Behr Ultra with primer in it) and had to do two to three coats, as it was a pretty colorful picture.
 
 While it dried, I used my Silhouette Cameo (a die-cutting machine) to create some stencils. For those of you who do not have a die-cutting machine, Joann Fabric, Michaels, and Hobby Lobby all have a variety of stencils you can buy and use for this project and many others. Just don’t forget your 40% coupon! You can even pull coupons up on your smartphone and show it to the cashier at any of the three stores.
 
For those of you who do have a Silhouette or something like it, I chose the Echo Park design Ready Set Eat, since this was a dining room project, and sized it how I wanted. I had to use three pieces of 12×24 adhesive vinyl because the canvas was really large! I put the first piece of vinyl in the machine and cut out the first word: Ready. Same thing 2 more times with 2 more pieces of vinyl for Set and Eat. I then weeded the letters off and threw them out (or you can save and use again if you have any good ideas for them) creating a large stencil. Then I used a 12×24 piece of contact paper from Hobby Lobby and placed it over the vinyl, completely covering it. I rubbed it and made sure it was free of bubbles and nice and flat. Then I peeled off the backing of the vinyl, and carefully placed it where I wanted it on the canvas. I smoothed it out and stuck it on good and then slowly peeled the contact paper off the top of the vinyl. Be careful when you do this, because if you are careful you can save a ton of money and reuse the same piece of contact paper through the whole process! Repeat 2x for the other words and then your stencils are all nice and stuck on. I used a Behr ultra salmon/pinkish color to fill in the words and had to do a few coats before removing the stencils. It turned out beautifully!
 
The fact that I used two pale colors might not appeal to everyone visually. I didn’t like it a lot at first. I thought about outlining the words with a darker color to make it stand out more. But I let it be and the more I looked at it over the next few days, the more it grew on me. I actually love how you kind of have to take a second look to read it. I think it draws the eye, but to each their own (my mom disagrees with me!) Haha feel free to use different designs, mediums, colors, etc. Go crazy! If you don’t love it, you can always paint over it and try again!
For me, this was a six dollar project, since I already had the canvas. I am telling you, crafting and re-decorating does not have to cost a ton! Don’t forget your coupons at the craft store. You can’t use a coupon for contact paper at any craft stores, at least in my area (It costs about 10 dollars for four 12×24″ sheets, which is why it is important to try and reuse it). But at Hobby Lobby, there is a brand of adhesive vinyl, Paper Studio, that you can use a coupon for (4.50 after coupon for four sheets of 12×24″ vinyl). Try and use some leftover paint, but if you don’t have any, you can get cheap acrylic paint at the craft store or go to Home Depot and pick a paint sample or two (they are less than 3 dollars each for a small container) and use those. Good luck! I would love to see your versions if you decide to try something like this!
One thought on “Upcycle an Old Painting!

Leave a Reply

