Tutorial Tuesday: DIY Hanging Flower Ball Party Decorations

Hello there! Ok so this weekend we had my daughter’s Hello Kitty birthday party and it really turned out amazing! With the help of my mother-in-law it was a hit. I usually stress out and try to do too much each year for her birthday (I LOVE her birthday and am aware that I tend to go overboard, but… she’s my baby!) and it never turns out how I want it to. But this year I was calm as a cucumber, didn’t stress out or try to do too much and it turned out better than EVER! Doesn’t it just figure? Here are some pictures from the lovely day:

DSC_0303

DSC_0304

DSC_0233

DSC_0239

DSC_0235

DSC_0243

DSC_0275

DSC_0305

DSC_0306

DSC_0307

DSC_0308

DSC_0310

DSC_0312

DSC_0313

DSC_0314

DSC_0317

DSC_0323

DSC_0338

DSC_0368

DSC_0518

We had Hello Kitty cake pops, pink popcorn, Hello Kitty cookies, milk and homemade donuts (which looked so cute in their little glass bottles!), appetizers, etc! We also had a face painting booth in the backyard, a cat-nap tent (heehee), a lap up the milk race, pin the bow on the kitty game, craft time, and a piñata! We had such a great time and she LOVED it! I’m going  to tell you how to make these pretty little flower balls that I hung from fishing line above the dining table along with the tissue paper pom poms.

DSC_0244 DSC_0246

You will need:

  • Long pins
  • Styrofoam balls
  • Fabric/ Paper flowers
  • Washi tape

I used Recollections fabric flowers that were on clearance at Michaels. They were $1.50 a pack and I used 3 I think. I couldn’t find the exact ones to show you but here are some pretty ones.  The Styrofoam balls are from Walmart ($5 for 6) and the long pins I found in the sewing section of Walmart for pretty cheap as well. I used some paper flowers that I had laying around from an old Silhouette project that I used to supplement the more expensive fabric flowers. I had some washi tape too so I added some of that for zing!

First I wrapped some washi tape and lace tape around the middle of the ball. Then I pinned the fabric and paper flowers around the balls in a way that was visually pleasing to me. I tied some fishing line around the head of the last pin and stuck it in the top of the ball. Then I stuck the fishing line to the ceiling with a glue dot. It was that easy! You can do it while watching TV. It isn’t the cheapest project but they can be easily stored and used over and over and they look beautiful!

I would love to see if you try!

-Love, Sarah

Cate Crafts Etsy shop

 

Leave a Reply

