Tutorial Tuesday: DIY Valentine’s Day Cards

Hey there, everyone! I am going to show you how to make some really cute cards for your someone special for Valentine’s Day. I made two here, one for my daughter and one for my husband. Look how great they turned out!

WP_20150113_032 WP_20150113_031

I started out by going into my scrapbooking room and grabbing a bunch of things that I thought would go well together (when you make yours you can try to get supplies similar to mine or improvise if you have some odds and ends):

WP_20150113_001 WP_20150113_002 WP_20150113_003 WP_20150113_004 WP_20150113_005 WP_20150113_006 WP_20150113_008

Things you need:

Scissors and/or paper cutter

Adhesive (I ALWAYS use Scotch Advanced Tape Glider)

Foam Pop Up Adhesive Squares

Stamps and ink (your choice of stamps- turn these ideas into birthday, anniversary, thank you cards, etc

(I use Close To My Heart inks, they last for years and years if stored upside down!)

Computer/Phone and Printer (to print picture of you and your honey)

White Cardstock

Patterned Cardstock (I got this double sided K and Company paper after V-day at Target for cheap, Recollections Not Too Serious Paper Stack)

DCWV Adhesive cork

Jewels, Ribbon and embellishments of your choice (Ribbons, Jewels, and bows all .50 cent clearance items at Michaels. Helpful hint-they have a $1.50 section there and periodically they put it all on clearance before new things come in.)

Ok it is important to keep in mind that these are always things that I keep in my house. You may not, however, and that is fine. Creativity is about improvising and making a project your own. And I would love to see pictures of yours!

Ok this is pretty straightforward. I cut the patterned cardstock I chose to the sizes I wanted and folded them into cards. Look how cute this animal paper is!

WP_20150113_010 WP_20150113_021

For the animal card, I cut three squares of paper, each a bit smaller than the other for a layered effect. Then I adhered them using the Scotch glider and pop dots to make it stand out. I used the tape glider to adhere the pom-pom ribbon to the side of the smallest square with the bunny on it. How cute is that!? I stamped my Feb 14th stamp in purple ink on white cardstock, cut it out, and adhered it at an angle with pop-dot squares.

WP_20150113_011 WP_20150113_013

WP_20150113_020 WP_20150113_022

For the card for my hubby I used the You’ll Do rectangular paper from the Recollections Not Too Serious stack and adhered it to the card  base with pop dots. Then I added a square of adhesive cork sheet for texture and fun.

I threaded the twine between the card base and the You’ll Do paper twice and tied it into a knot.

I tried to show you here:

WP_20150113_024

Then I stamped my Feb 14th stamp in 3 different colors, cut them out, and adhered them to the card in a fanned out pattern. I stamped You Are Loved on a white cardstock square from my scraps and glued it on with my Scotch glider. Then I printed out a 4×6 picture of my husband and I in black and white on cardstock (looked so much better than if I had done it on glossy photo paper!!). I cut it to size and put it on the corner of the card with pop dots. That’s that!

WP_20150113_027 WP_20150113_029 WP_20150113_026

I would love to see your versions if you try it! Check back with us soon as I will be showing y’all some Valentine’s Day items that will be going in the Cate Crafts’ Etsy shop on New Release Monday. Oh and don’t forget we have the first Free Printable Friday this week as well!

Love, Sarah

Cate Crafts

Leave a Reply

