DIY Lego Themed Invitations and Thank You Cards

WP_20150106_016

I got a call from my very best friend, Erin, saying that she needed thirty Lego themed party invitations and thirty coordinating thank you notes for her friend’s baby shower. I thought, hmmm, that’s strange. Babies can’t play with Legos. But apparently the men refused to attend unless it was a Lego themed party at which they could play with Legos. Oh, to be young at heart! I think that is pretty great. And congratulations women on being so sweet and easygoing that you let the men take over the baby shower theme!

I looked around and found some inspiration and designed my own little building block cards. Here is how the invitations turned out:

I’ve got to tell you, I am pretty thrilled at how they turned out!!

WP_20150106_013 WP_20150106_019

I designed, sized, and cut the pieces of my card on my Silhouette Cameo die cutting machine (which is my favorite worldly possession!). If you have a Silhouette with the Silhouette software you can do this in a snap. But if you don’t, this should be a pretty easy card to duplicate with punches or store bought die cuts and lots of cardstock. **Warning- this is a very time consuming project and will take a while!** But is it totally worth it? I say YES!

Supplies:

*Kraft Cardstock (Recollections brand, Michaels for $3)

* White 110 lb cardstock (Walmart $6 for 200 sheets!)

*Colored cardstock (Michaels- use coupons)

*Scotch Advanced Tape Glider- (Joann Fabric or Michaels- the best adhesive for papercrafting! Worth the investment!)

*Foam pop up adhesive squares (Walmart)

*Stamp, ink

It is pretty self explanatory. The circles on the square and rectangular “Lego” pieces are adhered with pop up squares and then the actual “Lego” pieces are adhered to the card using pop-ups as well as you can see in the following picture:

WP_20150106_021

And here are the thank you notes:

WP_20150106_026 WP_20150106_033 WP_20150106_036

(These were all taken on my phone so excuse the picture quality!)

Happy card making! Let me know if you have any questions. Or if you’d rather not do this yourself or you don’t have the papercrafting gene, contact me via Etsy for a custom order! www.etsy.com/shop/catecrafts Thank you!

Love, Sarah

3 thoughts on “DIY Lego Themed Invitations and Thank You Cards

  1. Hi Sarah, I want the measurements fir the lego invites. I love the cards that are there in your website. I am planning to make it for my son’s Birthday invitations. Please do share it with me.
    Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

